Durian Mornthong

God is so good. He created durian. Sigh…

I don’t know how to start on this one. Everything about it just makes me go ‘ohhs’ and ‘ahhhs’. It all started last Monday when Jeff and I wanted to celebrate Merdeka (Malaysia’s 52nd Independance Day) 31st August (so it happened) by making malaysian food that we miss. We had Bahkuteh on Sunday night, Sarawak Laksa on Monday followed by durian and longan after dinner.  *grin* The durian was sooo good we craved for more – and I told Jeff that I will make ‘bubur durian’ (like sweet porridge) for him the next time we get a durian. Today, when I got home from work, my heart leaped when I saw a durian on the kitchen floor. Jeff had went to get us one.

So bubur durian we had for supper. It brought smiles on my face (and heart) and many fond memories of my childhood when mom would cook this and the creamy aroma would fill the whole house. *grin* I couldn’t believe that Jeff had not had this before in his life. So here’s the recipe to share my joy with you.

_DSC1430

Bubur Durian

4 to 5 durian pieces with whole seed, 5 tbs of sago, palm sugar and coconut milk to taste and some water. Let it simmer and thicken. Enjoy!

_DSC1431

2 Responses to “Durian Mornthong”

  1. Yum!! Wei I want!!! =)

  2. Yea yea you really need to try it. Will holler you over when I plan to make this next. Jo only had a spoonful that night after LG. LOL! It’s really… sigh… yummy. :P~~~

Leave a comment